Nepalese cooking nourishes the body and soul.


The Sangan is a giving tradition and only found in Newar culture. Sagan is a wish for good luck. It is presented during life-cycle events like birthdays, weddings, old-age rites and New Year.

The five food items in Sagan represent the five Tantric elements (panchatatwa) – fire or "agni tatwa" (symbolized by wine), earth or "prithvi tatwa" (meat), water or "jal tatwa" (fish), ether or "akash tatwa" (lentil cake) and air or "wayu tatwa" (egg).

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Black-Eyed Bean -- Bhuti Wala

Newari families serve this dish with beaten rice, as part of the traditional samay bhaji, during special occasions. If you have leftovers, use them in Chatamari (see recipe). Ingredients : 2 Tablespoo